What Social Media is to Me.

Standard

I use several different social media sites. One could say I am slightly addicted to social media sites, but I like being updated on EVERYTHING. This could be anything from my closest friends to celebrity updates. I also use these sites for beauty tutorials, and for ideas, I can incorporate in the future. Over the next few paragraphs, I will be reflecting on what these social media sites mean to me.

A lot of the social media sites I use are for keeping in touch with people, those sites being Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Snapchat. I like these sites because I can easily get in touch with people. Also, I am constantly updated on what everyone is doing. Those two things are really important to me. The reason being that I have many friends that are in different cities and in different states. So, if I ever want to get a hold of them I can just message them. If I can’t get ahold of them that way I know that I can always do my quick scan of their posts. Though, I am guilty of just “creeping” on other people and not really communicating with them. This is extremely embarrassing to admit, but who isn’t a “troll” now of days.

Another way I like to use media platforms is to get creative ideas. Whether it is beauty tutorials, home décor, clothing styles, and recipes. I, personally, only use two sites for this kind of research. Those sites would be Pinterest and YouTube. These two sites are amazing for the simple fact that you can type in anything that you need to know. Once the results come up they have different options to choose from. I mean, who doesn’t like having more than one option to choose from? I know that I love it, because if one tutorial doesn’t work then you can try a different version of it. In many cases, I’ve had to do different versions of tutorials, especially in the beauty department!

However, one thing I despise about social media, mainly Facebook, is that it keeps track of what you look up. The problem I have with this site is, that it shows what you’ve looked up or something similar to it on the side of the page. To me, that’s invasion of privacy. They have no right to keep tabs of what we do on other sites. It makes you wonder what else they, Facebook, does that we are not aware of! Scary stuff.

So, let us recap what social media means to me. It’s a place where you can keep tabs on friends, family, and updates on celebrities. At the same time, you get to learn new things that you can apply in your everyday life. On the downside, people “creep” on one another. This could be an ex, someone you hate, or someone you have a crush. Either way, we’re all creeping on one another (which can also lead to some hardcore stalking, but we’re not going to go there). Even Facebook does some heavy-duty stalking. Remember people, be careful what you post on the internet because the world has all eyes on you!

Leave a Reply

